My Myalo – Story Board Art

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

A few months ago, I was offered the opportunity to be a storyboard artist for an independent film director who was applying for funding for a short film. I had never done any story board art before, but I figured I’d give it a crack as I enjoy drawing and am studying film.

DSCF5065

Exposé (scene 9 ) storyboard, 2016

So I sent him this storyboard, which I made by pausing a short film I helped make once, and copying each of those shots.

Making the My Myalo storyboard was certainly not as easy as this. The challenge was trying to replicate what the director wants the film to look like on paper. At the same time making sure the perspective is correct and the people conveyed facial expressions. Not to mention movement of subjects and camera. But in the end, I happy with how it turned out. It looks way more polished than the nasty stick-figure-chicken-scrawl story boards I made in high school.

Leave a Reply

